Checkpoint Charlie

from by The Speed Of Sound

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Limited edition, signed and numbered first pressing, heavy 170g vinyl LP with glass pressed double CD set
    Plus - a 297x297mm insert poster, a double-sided A4 poster and a full colour inner sleeve with the lyrics to all twenty songs.
    LP run time 34’:04” total CD run time including bonus songs 76’:46”

    Includes unlimited streaming of Everything Changes via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    edition of 350 

      £15 GBP or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £1 GBP  or more



Checkpoint Charlie is the soundtrack to an imaginary cold war thriller, it was the crossing point from the American sector into (or out of) East Berlin.
The voice of the DDR border official is contributed by Lord Litter, widely referred to as 'The European John Peel' he is a German DJ and musician extraodinaire and Renegade of Culture since 1984, the opening lines are phrases he has heard many times, but not since 9th November 1989 when the wall came down.
The Speed Of Sound have been played on his radio shows many times including songs from the first EP while Berlin was still a city divided by a wall. It is an absolute pleasure and utterly appropriate to have him adding to the audio.
The other voice is of course JFK with the closing line of his speech of 26 June 1963 and the crowd response. Many thanks to the The Miller Centre University of Virginia for allowing use of this recording. Recorded during the Everything Changes sessions at Seed Studios and Bryn Elwy

The bonus tracks:
Evolution and change is an important aspect of The Speed Of Sound, from the beginning the plan was for the bonus disc to reflect the way a selection of the songs from the back catalogue on the current live-list were currently being played


Checkpoint Charlie

Guten Tag Ihren Pass bitte
Ja und auch die Zoll und Devisenerklärung
Was ist der Griund der Einreise in die DDR?
Ich bin ein Berliner


from Everything Changes, released December 6, 2016



all rights reserved


The Speed Of Sound UK

"atmospheric alternative rock".
John Armstrong guitar/vocals, AnnMarie Crowley - vocals/percussion, Kevin Roache bass & Paul Worthington drums, based in Manchester UK. Unfettered, unchained & independent since 1989.
They frequently play live in Manchester and elsewhere.
... more

contact / help

Contact The Speed Of Sound

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns